Leave a comment

Excuses, excuses…

I know I started my last post with an apology but this time I owe  you a big one, particularly as it’s unfortunately going to be a short post today. Sorry!

The past month has been geared up to producing this:

The final product!

The final product!

Yep, that’s right, my Masters thesis. I’m talking studying every day (when procrastination doesn’t get in the way anyway) whilst  working full-time, late nights in the office, coffee (some of you will know that I NEVER drink coffee except in emergencies), a near breakdown and copious amounts of junk food. And that was just the last month. Just to put things into perspective, I began working on this piece of work almost a year ago…anyhow, that is my excuse for the distinct lack of updates. The worse part is that I have stories to tell and photos to show you, there just simply isn’t enough hours in the day. Why aren’t I going to do a proper post now, you may ask? Well it’s currently 2.41am, I haven’t finished packing and I am leaving for my second real ‘adventure’ in approximately 2 hours time. To celebrate both Holly’s birthday on Friday and my dissertation submission, Holly and I, and Jo (a childhood friend who is visiting) will arrive at Diani beach tomorrow morning…I would post a photo from Google Images but I would rather only post photos I have taken but it is definitely worth a Google. In all honestly, I don’t feel like I’ve had a proper holiday in years so I am really looking forward to it. The weather in Nairobi is also slightly chilly (in African terms) so it’ll be nice to experience some of the coastal heat and start working on my tan!

Of course, you can expect a blog entry about my trip in the coming weeks – as well as a post about other things I have been up to, such as visiting Kibera (the largest slum in Africa for those of you that don’t know), going out clubbing in Nairobi and learning how to make ugali from scratch.  I would also like to thank each and everyone of you that has been asking about my blog and that has let me know that they are enjoying reading it. Great to hear!

Once again, apologies for not writing more often- I really wanted to post but I just couldn’t justify spending time on this when the dissertation needed to be made a priority. For now, I’ll leave you with a very popular Kenyan song that I absolutely adore. It is called ‘Nakupenda pia’ which means ‘I love you too’ in Swahili. It features one of Kenyan’s finest artists, Wyre, and Jamaica’s Alaine. Hope you like it!

Baadaye,

Abbie x

Leave a Reply

